Arson offenses under Georgia law cast a wide net as to the parties involved, the thing or place targeted by the offense, and the alleged intent of the person charged. At any level, first degree, second degree, or third-degree, a conviction for arson can have a significant impact on your life.
If you face a charge for arson in any degree, you stand to benefit from accessing every resource available to you in pursuing a favorable outcome in your case. Talk to a Fort Oglethorpe arson lawyer about effective ways to defend yourself and your rights. To get started on your case, reach out to a trusted attorney to schedule a consultation.
Under the arson offenses provided in the Official Code of Georgia Annotated §16-760 through 16-763, first-degree arson involves causing damage by fire or explosive to an occupied or unoccupied:
First degree arson may involve the same actions carried out in the commission of a felony. Someone convicted of arson in the first degree faces a fine of up to $50,000, imprisonment for one to twenty years, or both. Someone facing an arson charge in Fort Oglethorpe and seeking suggestions for potentially effective defense strategies could receive answers from an arson attorney.
Arson in the second degree involves knowingly damaging or having another damage any vessel or structure not specifically listed in §16-760 without the consent of the owner alone or both the owner and a security interest. The offense may also arise from the commission of a felony under the same conditions. Someone convicted of arson in the second degree faces a fine of up to $25,000, imprisonment for one to ten years, or both.
Arson in the third degree involves, under the same circumstances, knowingly damaging or having another damage personal property with a value of $25 or more without the consent of both the owner and the security interest, without the consent of the insurer and the insured, or with intent to defeat, the rights of a spouse or co-owner.
Third-degree arson may involve the same actions carried out in the commission of a felony. A conviction results in a fine of up to $10,000, imprisonment for one to five years, or both. A person charged in Fort Oglethorpe with arson in any degree should speak with an arson attorney about how to limit or even prevent losses in their case.
Arson statutes in Georgia tend to require a few universal elements, but they differ according to the circumstances, causation, and type of property in question. Prohibited acts include burning lands owned by another, burning anyone’s land, causing a fire by discarding a cigarette, and destroying wildfire-detecting devices.
If you are charged with arson, discussing your case with an attorney could prove to be an essential step towards obtaining a favorable outcome. Avoid arriving in court without the tools you need. Get in touch with a Fort Oglethorpe arson lawyer to see what a trained eye might bring to light in your case.