While one might think that getting caught with a fake driver’s license may not carry too harsh a legal penalty in Tennessee, this could not be further from the truth. A conviction could mean many months in jail, large fines, and the loss of driving privileges. You should get in touch with a Chattanooga fake ID lawyer if you are currently facing charges of this nature. You could ensure the protection of your rights throughout the legal process with the benefit of an experienced attorney. An attorney could advocate for your interests and help you pursue a successful conclusion to your case.
Several common defenses are relevant in these situations depending on the circumstances leading to someone’s fake ID charge. A Chattanooga attorney could evaluate the details of an illegitimate ID offense and tailor a defense strategy accordingly. One of the most common defenses is to assert that the accused did not deliberately present a fake ID.
If the person charged was unaware that the ID was illegitimate, the prosecution may not meet the burden of proof to reach a conviction. To reach a guilty verdict, the prosecution must show that the accused acted deliberately. In other words, if the accused was unaware that the ID was not legitimate, the required element of intent might not be present.
Fake ID charges are commonly brought when someone tries to use a false driver’s license to purchase alcohol, enter a nightclub, or otherwise gain entry to an establishment in which underage individuals are not permitted. In order to buy alcohol in Chattanooga, someone must be at least 21. Another plausible defense that may be relevant to a fake ID charge is when the defense can show that the individual did not plan to use the ID for fraudulent purposes.
Tennessee Code Annotated § 57-3-412 contains the state’s laws and penalties concerning minors and fake IDs. It is a Class A misdemeanor crime to falsify or attempt to falsify a license. Additionally, the law states that it is a crime for an individual younger than 21 to intentionally make a deceitful declaration or show fraudulent identification indicating that they are at least 21 to gain or buy alcohol. A violation of this section is also punishable as a Class A misdemeanor offense.
Tennessee law states that Class A misdemeanors may be prosecuted by up to 11 months and 29 days of incarceration. A conviction under this statute could mean the removal of the accused’s driving privileges for up to 12 months. Fines and community service requirements may also apply. An experienced local fake ID attorney could provide additional insight regarding the specific penalties that could apply to a particular fake ID charge, given the facts involved and the age of the accused.
If you have been charged with allegedly using a fake ID to purchase alcohol or for some other purpose, it is in your best interest to speak with a Chattanooga fake ID lawyer. An attorney can help you understand the options available to potentially seek a dismissal or reduction of your charges and the possible outcomes for your case. To talk with a Chattanooga attorney about defending yourself against a false ID charge, schedule a consultation today.